King County Metro honors three ‘Operators of the Year’

Metro Drivers

Ricardo Diaz, Penny Scott and Robert Leyse walked into cheers and applause at a surprise ceremony Wednesday, Sept. 19 at Atlantic-Central Base where they were named King County Metro’s Transit Operators of the Year.

Each year since 1979, Operators of the Month are selected from each of Metro’s seven bases, who later are responsible for selecting an Operator of the Year from among them. In nearly 40 years, there has never been a tie between three operators. Metro had two-way ties for Operator of the Year in 1994, 1997 and 2007.

Having three operators of the year makes Metro shine all the brighter as the agency prepares this month to receive its Outstanding Public Transportation System Achievement Award – aka No. 1 transportation system in North America – from the American Public Transportation Association. Coincidentally, this is the third time Metro has received that honor as an agency, having previously received it in 1983 and 1992.

Together, the three Operators of the Year have 66 years driving experience with Metro.

Read more in the official press release.